Intern workshops in Australia

When completing an Intern Training Program in Australia, it is an Australian Pharmacy Council (APC) requirement that all interns attend a minimum of 25 hours of face-to-face workshops throughout the year. The Guild Intern Training Program fulfils this requirement by having a series of two workshops, which both take place over two days. For convenience, workshops are run in all states and territories, and in larger states multiple workshop options are available to allow for smaller class sizes and increased interactivity!

Workshop ONE: Quality Use of Medicines in Practice

Workshop One is “Quality Use of Medicines in Practice” and includes a series of case studies, problem solving activities, industry updates as well as a series of mock exams (calculations, legal/ethical and clinical) to prepare you for the APC Written Exam.

Queensland

  • Townsville: Thursday 23rd and Friday 24th March
  • Brisbane (1): Monday 3rd and Tuesday 4th April
  • Brisbane (2): Thursday 6th and Friday 7th April
  • Brisbane (3): Monday 22nd and Tuesday 23rd May

New South Wales/A.C.T

  • Sydney (1): Wednesday 19th and Thursday 20th April
  • Canberra: Monday 8th and Tuesday 9th May
  • Sydney (2): Thursday 11th and Friday 12th May

Victoria

  • Melbourne (1): Tuesday 9th and Wednesday 10th May
  • *(Bendigo) Melbourne (2): Tuesday 16th and Wednesday 17th May

Tasmania

  • Hobart: Thursday 25th and Friday 26th May

South Australia

  • Adelaide: Thursday 16th and Friday 17th March

Northern Territory

  • Darwin: Monday 20th and Tuesday 21st March

Western Australia

  • Perth: Tuesday 28th and Wednesday 29th March

Workshop TWO: Examination Preparation and Counselling Skills

Workshop Two is “Examination Preparation and Counselling Skills” and covers all four domains of the Pharmacy Board of Australia (PBA) Oral Exam on medication knowledge and counselling, primary healthcare, legal and ethical practice and problem solving and communication. These two full days of preparation and practice cases ensure that all interns are feeling comfortable and confident for their final exam prior to registration as a pharmacist.

Queensland

  • Brisbane (Mid-Year 2016 interns): Tuesday 28th and Wednesday 29th March
  • Brisbane (1): Monday 3rd and Tuesday 4th July
  • Brisbane (2): Wednesday 26th and Thursday 27th July
  • Townsville: Thursday 17th and Friday 18th August
  • Brisbane (3): Monday 21st and Tuesday 22nd August

New South Wales/A.C.T

  • Sydney (1): Tuesday 11th and Wednesday 12th July
  • Canberra: Monday 28th and Tuesday 29th August
  • Sydney (2): Tuesday 5th and Wednesday 6th September

Victoria

  • Melbourne (1): Tuesday 8th and Wednesday 9th August
  • *(Bendigo) Melbourne (2): Tuesday 15th and Wednesday 16th August

Tasmania

  • Hobart: Thursday 3rd and Friday 4th August

South Australia

  • Adelaide: Thursday 24th and Friday 25th August

Northern Territory

  • Darwin: Tuesday 18th and Wednesday 19th July

Western Australia

  • Perth: Tuesday 25th and Wednesday 26th July

*N.B – pending demand and based on location of enrolments, one Victorian workshop may be held in Bendigo to cater for regional Vic interns
The Guild Intern Training Program will endeavour to allocate you to your preferred workshop date, however if that workshop is at capacity your next available preference will be allocated. The Guild Intern Training Program reserves the right to combine or add workshop dates if required.

Contact us
For more information or enquiries
(Mon-Fri 8:30am–4:30pm)
1300 110 161
info@internpharmacist.com.au